REACH Georgia Scholarship Skip to main content

REACH Scholars

2013 Cohort

Amaya Brown, LCMS/SHS

Kailana Low, LCMS/SHS

Aisley Scarboro, PMHS

Amonica Kirkland, PMHS

De’Neshia Jones, SEB


2014 Cohort

Nancy Martinez, LCMS/SHS

Destiny Hartwell, LCMS/SHS

Alberto Rodriguez, LCMS/SHS

Michael Vescio, WJMS/SHS 

Brian Phillips, Jr., WJMS/SHS


2015 Cohort

Conley Roberson, WJMS/SHS 

Chris Angel, LCMS/SHS

Taylor Cone, LCMS/SHS

Jadon Jones, LCMS/SHS

Jean Delfin-Uscanga, PMHS


2016 Cohort

Joshua Davis, WJMS/SHS

Ciaji Wallace, LCMS/SHS

Cynthia Martinez, LCMS/SHS

Elizabeth Osorio, LCMS/SHS


2017 Cohort

Jordan Glover, WJMS

Camilla Williams, WJMS

Kiara Raymond, PMHS

Teresita Mendoza, LCMS

Joanna Reyes, SEBMS

Maritza Figueroa, SEBMS


2018 Cohort

Karina Cobos-Hernandez, SEBMS

Cayla Frazier, WJMS

Ariyana Jenkins, LCMS

Charity Murray-Davis, WJMS

Ja'Laya Saunders, PMHS

REACH Georgia Scholarship

REACH Georgia is a needs-based mentoring and scholarship program designed to ensure that the state’s academically promising students have the academic, social, and financial support needed to graduate from high school and complete college.  Bulloch County is one of five school systems that the state initially selected to pilot the program. The Georgia Student Finance Corporation holds the scholarships for scholars until they graduate from high school.

More than 63 colleges and universities in Georgia have agreed to double-match and some triple-match these scholarships. All funds raised (100 percent) for REACH Georgia locally go to future recipients.

Bulloch County’s 2013 through 2017 scholars now have a combined total of $500,000 invested in their education in addition to any other scholarships them may receive.  Our REACH Georgia scholars are successful middle school and high school students who work hard to annually meet the program's rigorous academic, attendance, and behavior criteria. Each November the school system names five additional REACH Scholars

Eligible students must meet the following requirements: (1) be currently be in the eighth grade at a participating, eligible Georgia middle school; (2) demonstrate financial need; (3) have legal status in the U.S. (U.S. citizen or legal resident); (4) have and agree to maintain above average attendance and behavior; (5) have grade reports reflecting minimum grades of 75 or better in each core course (2.5 GPA); (6) have and agree to maintain a crime-free and drug-free record; and (7) have the support of a parent, legal guardian, or other committed adult.

As a pilot school system, BCS was originally awarded a total of ten $10,000 scholarships by the state. As a participating school system, Bulloch County Schools had to  identify a local corporate sponsor to continue the program. In Bulloch County, the Bulloch County Foundation for Public Education is currently the sole sponsor that keeps this program active in our community. The Foundation donates $7,500 ($1,500 per student) to help fund the $10,000 base scholarships. You can help in this effort by contributing to the Foundation, supporting its fundraisers or by becoming a corporate sponsor of the program.  Donations are tax deductible. 



Key Contacts

Student Support Services

Dr. Deborah Mangum
Executive Director

Melissa Jackson
Administrative Assistant

Renee Perry

Tim Rountree

Transitions Learning Center

Keith Wilkey
Director of School Social Work & Homeless Liaison

Hanson Filson
School Social Worker 

Shyrae Mutcherson
School Social Worker & DFACS Liaison

Alexandra Hill
School Social Worker 

Sharon Hill