Skip to main content

English - Nan Rushing Write Off

Sustaining Sponsor

Barr Law Offices LogoThank you to our sustaining partner for this annual event. Their support allows student to compete for free and it provides awards for winners 

Barr Law Offices, LLC

33rd Annual Nan Rushing Write-off

Saturday, March 10, 8:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.

Southeast Bulloch High School

 

The Nan Rushing Write-off was started in 1985, by then Southeast Bulloch English language arts teacher Nan Rushing, who had received a $1,000 mini-grant from the school system to begin a writing event in Nevils.  Of the 10 mini-grants awarded in 1985, by former School Superintendent Ed Wynn, the Nan Rushing Write-off and the Penny Sikes Math Tournament are the two remaining programs that have stood the test of time and offered a valuable tool for encouraging students in math and language arts. Rushing was an educator for 37 years.

 

The Write-Off was named in Nan Rushing's honor in 2008. Businesses and civic groups like Excelsior EMC, Brooklet Kiwanis, local banks, and others have helped support the write-off through the years after the initial grant ended.

 

Academic Support Contacts

Dr. Virginia Bennett

Executive Director
vbennett@bullochschools.org
Academic Support Services K-12
912.212.8572

 

Cyndi Westberry

Administrative Assistant
cwestberry@bullochschools.org
912.212.8550

 

Dee Dee Bennett, Director
All Subjects K-12

dbennett@bullochschools.org
912.212.8551

 

Dr. Casey McNeely,  Director

All Subjects & Gifted  Svc. (QUEST)
cmcneely@bullochschools.org

912.212.8571

 

Dr. Yvette Ledford, Director

All Subjects K-12 & Prekindergarten Program

 vledford@bullochschools.org

912-212-8558

 

Jeff Giddens, Director
jgiddens@bullochschools.org

All Subjects K-12 & STEM
912.212-8552

 

Jennifer Agnew, Secretary

jagnew@bullochschools.org

912.212.8570