Georgia Milestones Assessments Skip to main content
Key Contacts

Dr. Noralee Edwards
Data Support Director

Carole Colson
Data Support Secretary

Brenda Kingery
Testing Specialist

For Media & Public Information about testing and the reporting of district- and school-level scores:

Hayley Greene

Public Relations/Marketing Specialist


Georgia Milestones Assessments

GA Milestones Assessments for Grades 3 – 8 are April 9 – 25, 2019; Assessments for Grades 9-12 begin April 29, 2019

Bulloch County Schools will administer the annual Georgia Milestones' End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to third through eighth-grade students April 9 -25, 2019, and the End-of-Course tests to grades nine through twelve beginning April 29.  All public schools in GA are required by state and federal law to administer assessments which measure how well students are learning the knowledge and skills  they have been taught from the academic content standards.  

End-of-Grade Tests (Grades Three through Eight)

Elementary students will begin testing on April 10, whereas middle school students will begin on April 9.  The EOGs are administered in the following order: English/Language Arts, Math, Science, Social Studies . All students will take the EOGs online. The Georgia Department of Education now considers online as the primary mode of testing.

All students in grades three through eight will take the English/Language Arts and Mathematics tests for their grade level. For grades five and eight, students will also take tests in the areas of Science and Social Studies.

Performance Levels

Georgia has developed a specific set of academic performance standards or expectations at each grade level for all students.  The results provide teachers with valuable information about each child’s academic achievement and progress and aids them in designing an educational program for students.

Students are not compared to each other, but are measured on how well they are meeting academic standards. Student achievement in each content area will be classified into four performance levels:  Beginning Learner, Developing Learner, Proficient Learner, or Distinguished Learner.

Required performance guidelines & promotion

A student’s performance on the EOGs will also assist in determining promotion to the next grade level for all students. Students in grades three, five and eight that do not meet the required performance guidelines will be provided remediation and an opportunity to retest. The Georgia Department of Education's State Board of Education has established these specific performance guidelines for grades three, five, and eight:

Third grade students must score At Grade Level or Above in reading.
Fifth grade students must score At Grade Level or Above in reading and at least at the Developing Learner Level in mathematics.
Eighth grade students must score At Grade Level or Above in reading and at least at the Developing Learner Level in mathematics.

Test Results

Bulloch County Schools will provide each student's test results to parents and schools as soon as they are made available by the state.  We expect preliminary reports to be available by early to mid-May 2019. Official paper copies for parents and student records are expected in early summer.

Parent Support

To help ensure that your children do their best on test days, please  consider these test preparation tips:

  • Offer your child positive encouragement to simply do their best.
  • Be sure your child has a good night’s sleep (8-9 hours).
  • Be sure your child has a nourishing breakfast.
  • Be sure your child arrives on time to school. 
  • Encourage your child to use good study and test-taking skills which include following directions carefully, avoiding careless errors and reviewing work.
  • As a parent, don't be afraid to ask questions. There are also several parent resources on this site for you.  If you have additional questions, contact your child's teacher or  school for assistance. We are partners to help all children learn. 

What are the EOG tests like?

To see what online testing is like, you and your child can visit the Experience Online Testing Georgia website . The items on the demonstration tests are general and represent multiple grade levels. They do not assess student achievement.  

EOG Question Formats 
The EOGs will include the following types of questions in these subject areas:
•    Multiple Choice (selected response) – English language arts, math, science and social studies
•    Short Answer (Constructed Response) – English language arts and math
•    Extended constructed response  – English language arts and math
•    Extended writing response  – English language arts
•    Technology enhanced-evidence-based/multiple part items – English language arts, math, science and social studies 

Questions about Opting Out of Testing

Parents and guardians have a wide range of opinions about standardized tests from support to apprehension to objection. We want to be open and honest with you about current federal and state legislation that governs testing in our school district.

Read more about this in a message from the Superintendent.

Students with Disabilities or English Language Learners

Federal and state laws require public schools to annually assess all enrolled students.  In Georgia, the State Board of Education has determined that the Georgia Milestones Assessment System will fulfill this mandate; therefore, Bulloch County Schools is required to offer all students the opportunity to participate in state assessments.

Specific accommodations are allowed for students who require them. Neither an Individualized Education Program (IEP) team nor a parent can request that a student be exempted from the assessment.